Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

The New Year

The start of this New Year has been an emotional one.  Not necessarily bad, but I have felt a bit more towards anxious and closer to tears than usual (and my usual amount is sufficient, thank you).  There was the post from The Bloggess that sent more traffic to my little corner of the internet than I have had throughout my years of blogging, even when I was predictable.  Thanks to each of you who showed up.  You never really know how what you say is going to affect people, and I continue to be awed and amazed at what has come from her post.

I also had to say goodbye to the Best Very Bad Dog by the name of Red Baron.   He was a tiny thing when I picked him up out of the crate at the Humane Society and held him towards my then boyfriend for perusal. “Well, I looked him in the eye, so we can’t put him back now.”  So we took him home.  He was advertised as a “beagle mix,” but unless the beagle was a very sturdy type and mixed with an Irish Wolfhound, that was a guess–and a poor one.  He grew to be about 65 pounds before he got fat.  He HATED his crate and cried all night.  He ate the alarm clock and t-shirt we put inside to soothe him.  He ate my glasses while I was taking a nap on the couch.  He ate a pillow Mother had needle-pointed (after Mother had died).  He was nearly impossible to house train, and dropped out of obedience school due to lack of interest.

He was also sweet, loyal, a stealer of a stuffed Pooh Bear larger than he, and a really good nap buddy (he put his head on the pillow next to mine.  We had not lived at the same address for 10 years or so, but we still belonged to each other.  Whoever said how great the world would be if we all could be the people our dogs thought we were had my Reddog in mind.

I have also been moved to tears by the heartbreak of and the beautiful response to the fire at house this week. This put it best: “There is nothing virtual about internet friendships. I am deleting the word “online” from my phrase “online friends.”

I hope to post a bit more often, as Monica and Jenny have reminded me how fantastic being connected is. I also think it is good for me.

How is 2012 treating you?

Comments on: "The New Year" (2)

  1. I meant to go and comment on your FB post about deleting the word “online” when talking of virtual friends. I often find myself relating something I read from an online friend to a flesh and blood one. It is too wordy , and sometimes awkward to use the online vernacular. And truly , so many, like you are truly friends. When my daughter died suddenly in 2006 I felt the love and support of the online community. I topped saying “online friends” then. We are friends.

  2. Oh, I’m so sorry you’re having such a tough intro to the new year. The thought of losing a beloved pet makes me want to cry. I cannot imagine life without my crazy furballs. I hope things start looking up soon and 2012 starts being a little kinder to you. xoxo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

