Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

…and by “do it,” I mean get a tattoo.  I have gone back and forth about this for many years.  I have entered at least three tattoo parlours with possible intentions.  (One was kinda scary and late at night in Las Vegas, so I’m glad I didn’t “do it” there.  While alcohol might be involved in the process, I don’t think it should be an integral portion of the decision making.

The tattoo I want to get is an elephant.  When I was a kid, I remembered just about everything, and Mother started calling me an elephant, as they are said to have excellent memories.  That started the collecting as a child.  While the collection has been downsized a bit, I still am so glad to have it.  The items I have from each of my Grandmothers are elephants.  One is a teapot, the other a rather large ceramic one brought by my great aunt from Viet Nam.

Here is the dilemma:  The elephant must be simple enough to fit on my ankle.  The elephant cannot resemble the republican party symbol.  The elephant must have its trunk up (as trunks down are considered unlucky in some cultures, and frankly, why risk it?)  The elephant can’t be too cutesie like Dumbo–nor can it be too realistic looking as I fear that would require a larger piece of my pelt than I want to involve.

Last night I looked at a gazillion (or so) elephants, and actually had better luck than I had had in the past.  If wordpress allows me, I will include them here for feedback.  At least one of them is in color (blue), if my elephant is in color it will be dark purple.   Please be brutally honest about what you think.  This will end up on my “permanent record” so to speak.  I welcome any additional pictures you might find.  I also need to know what a chicken-shit nurse (it is a proven fact that redheads experience more pain than the general population–perhaps that is why we inflict it as well) needs to know about how to choose a tattoo artist.  I’m thinking that the dudes and chicks at Miami Ink are already booked way far out.

Here are the ones I have so far…

Comments on: "I think I’m actually going to do it this time…" (4)

  1. Which one do you like the best of the ones you posted? The ones you “fill in” may hurt like a b*tch.

    Are you doing it on the inside or outside of your ankle?

    I got my fifth and final tattoo a few years ago. Surprisingly, the one on my foot gave me the most trouble and I’ve had to get it filled in again twice. I also couldn’t wear socks for awhile, so that the constant rubbing and agitation would not slow down the healing process.

    The first few tattoos I got, I just looked at their books and trusted that they would be good artists. Not a great idea. For the last two, I kept my eyes peeled for people with AMAZING tattoos and shamelessly asked them where they got their work done. Most people are happy to tell you and will be honest about whether they would go back or not.

    • I was thinking the outside of my left ankle, but I would love any advice you have regarding location. When I wear an ankle bracelet, I tend to wear it on the right ankle. I think I like the blue one in the middle of the bottom row the most, though the gray one above it and the silhouette on the top . I have startright keep talking to me as well.

      I am a total whimp about pain, but I certainly think I could take it. I have started asking random people I know if they have tattoos and where they got them. A FB friend who I haven’t talked to in ages has a beautiful mermaid on her back, and I emailed her to ask as well. As I said, this is something I have been on the fence about for many years, but it just seems like now is the time. Of course, I need to get the house in Houston sold before I could spend money on something like this, but I hope it will happen soon. Thanks for the info. Oh–do you mind telling me what and where yours are?

  2. That sounds like a great spot, especially if you tend to wear things on the other ankle…wouldn’t want to cover up your elephant in any way.=)

    I LOVE the blue one in the middle too. I didn’t want to express my favorite, in case you were leaning towards something else.

    I have two on my back (both wording tattoos in black), one on my rear end (a little fairy) one on my stomach (chinese writing) and one on my foot (star)

    the ones on my stomach and foot hurt the most. Unfortunately, i got the one on my stomach before I got pregnant, so it’s uh…..not what it used to be.

    I’m excited for you. Here’s hoping your house sells quickly so you can do this!

  3. I like the one on the top row in the middle. And that is all the opinion I can offer as I am not tattooed anywhere.

Leave a Reply

