Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

I generally don’t talk about sex on my blog (here or the old one).  That isn’t going to change.  However, there is a story that requires me to mention it.

I was in college when I decided to have sex for the first time.  I went to the health center and got on the pill.  I ignored all my (sexually active) friends who tried to talk me out of it.  I was 20 years old, madly in love with my boyfriend, and figured it was time.  (No regrets, but that is not what this story is about.)

I was shopping with my stepmother a week or so before the planned event.  We were in the lingerie section of Macy’s, and I found this absolutely gorgeous peachy/pink satin teddy.  There was an equally gorgeous robe that went with it, but I was a poor college student, so it wasn’t in my budget.  J saw what I was buying, and didn’t bat an eyelash (I have no idea what thoughts she had about if I was already having sex or not).  She said, “Why aren’t you getting the robe?  You can’t get the teddy without the robe.”  I explained that it just wasn’t going to happen if I wanted to eat for the rest of the month.  She thought for about 10 seconds, and then put the robe on the counter with her other items.  She glared at me and said, “Just for the record, if your father ever finds out about this, I will deny it.  And, I am buying you the modest part, anyway.”

Yesterday was the 12 year anniversary of J’s death (fairly suddenly at age 54).  I’m sure that my father is not anywhere near over it.  I thought it apt to share one of my favorite stories of her with you.

Happy Halloween

Comments on: "Not all stepmothers are monsters" (3)

  1. Kudos to your dad for picking such a cool woman to be your stepmother.

    Kudos to your stepmother for being so wonderful. When you reveal moments like that about someone, it says a lot about who they are as a whole.

    Kudos to you for writing such a lovely note in remembrance of her.

  2. Oh, that’s a lovely story. What a great woman.

  3. That is such a sweet story! What a great memory 🙂

Leave a Reply

