Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

Crazy, busy week

So, this week has been a bit of work.  I found out my current charge nurse is moving to another position at our hospital.  This leaves vacant (nearly) the same job I left 5 years ago.  I think I have a good chance of getting it even though I have just been back since August.  It would be more money, use more of my mind and people skills and less of my back muscles, allow me to teach more (something I love to do and get good feedback on).  Fingers crossed.

I had some challenging interactions with the ex.  He is not as far down the road of accepting the reality as I am , and this has resulted in some less than pleasant email exchanges. (As mentioned in previous post–he found my online dating profile within 48 hours of my posting it and made assumptions that were not correct.  Yes, he was looking for it–it was not random accident.)   I am still set on the current goal of maintaing a friendship with him, so this made it more useful to address things head on rather than ignore or put him on full blast.  I feel good about the way I let him know what was okay behavior and what was not.  I will be patient, but he needs to figure it out.

I also have looked at 2 rental properties that would both “work.”  Tomorrow I have a date to look at one that feels like “mine.”  I love the outside–nice front yard, red door, and windows.  It has a covered patio in back and a good sized pretty yard which is already fenced in.  The main living space is open, airy and full of windows.  The kitchen is updated and very white–as is the living space.  I wouldn’t have necessarily thought I would like the white-white, but in this setting it strikes me as a beautiful blank palette waiting to be made my own.  (Yes, the sister and I prowled around the house and even used a flashlight purchased just for the occasion.  We forgot the stepstool, so I boosted her up to look in some of the windows–got a problem with that?)  I have one more appt scheduled, and one more to make, but if this red-doored one isn’t mine, I will be sad.

One last anecdote.  A confused patient at work Friday was having a hard time.  We were getting him back to bed, and he was requiring many verbal cues to be safe with his new hip.  He looked up at me and said. “What you need to do right now, is speak as little as possible.”  I doubt he is the first to feel that way, but the phrasing was perfect.  Gotta love being a nurse!

So–what is your after-Thanksgiving story?  Traditions, trials, tribulations?  I wanna know.

Comments on: "Crazy, busy week" (4)

  1. your sister said:

    You need to be clear that the house which is yours is currently unoccupied. Otherwise it sounds a little creepy. My after Thanksgiving story is that I ate so much from Thursday to Sunday that I was up all night Sunday with bad gas and an upset stomach. I have the willpower of your average 3 year old.

  2. your sister said:

    P. S. It’s a good thing this isn’t a resume, because it is chock-full of the typos. Just sayin.

  3. It all sounds positive . I hope you get the house with the red door. My after Thanksgiving story involves a beach and margaritas.

  4. I am so excited that I found the comments section!!!! I know its late but 2 days after Thanksgiving I got to go out with all 4 of my sisters. We found a place called, “Charming Charlies” with cheap accessories. Okay, I am boring myself now. Yeah, I can comment now!

Leave a Reply

