Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

Insert witty title here…

This is the most random assortment of odds and ends, but I just couldn’t weave it together so I gave up.

Good grief!  I am so glad to be almost over the bug I had this week.  I had heard it was a wicked one going around, and I definitely got it.  I hope I didn’t share with anybody.

Moving day is Saturday.  I can take posession Friday, but I do have to work.  I will load the car Thursday  evening with most of the stuff from here (Poppa’s condo), and then unload at the house Friday evening.  Bought the biggest television in my history this week in order to be ready for the install Saturday.  I am getting internet,  cable, and phone (does anyone else still have a land line?) from the same company, and I didn’t want to test myself out in the new house without television or internet for 2-3 weeks.  One or the other, maybe, but not both. 

I do not remember exactly what I have in storage and what I will need to purchase.  I browsed much in Target yesterday, but the total dollar amount spent was $8.08.  I don’t think that has ever happened before.  Plus, I returned a pair of pants for almost $30–so that means I actually MADE money, right?  Seeing what I own and do not own will be interesting.

My descriptor up top says “soon to be ex-wife.”  It looks like soon will be tomorrow.  I know it was the right decision.  I needed to leave.  However, it still hurts, sucks, and makes me sad.  I guess I will deal.  Being a grown-up isn’t always Coca-Cola and Milky Way bars.

Thank goodness I didn’t have to put down a deposit at this place.  Spencer has adjusted poorly to the change.  He is the neurotic dog who likes to go in and out the door 5 million times a day.  On the 3rd floor, just not possible.  He has been showing his “displeasure” but using the dining room as his personal toilet.  I can walk him and he will pee for days.  Then, he will pee a small pancake sized puddle–sometimes even when we are looking right at him.  This was never a problem before (Atlanta or Houston).  Fortunately, Poppa was gonna replace the carpets in the Spring anyway, and doesn’t seem stressed about it.  I, however, feel compelled to pay for a carpet cleaning once we vacate.  He also likes to leave turd piles in the same room.  If he weren’t so freaking crazy already, I’d start the serious punishments, but I know it’s just adjustment disorder.   He will find himself on doggie prozac if he starts this stuff at the new house.  How appropriate is that–I have a dog who has an anxiety disorder?

It is very, freaking cold here.  I don’t want to hear any shit from any of my damnyankee friends about how this isn’t really cold.  For Atlanta in mid-December this is cold.  And, I have been in Houston for 4 years.  I was good ’til we hit the 20’s…then I had to borrow a jacket.

Breakfast at the Waffle House today

 

So, do the sis and I look alike?  We get varied answers, so thought I’d ask y’all.

Oh!  One last thing….the winner of today’s “Best Dressed” was a 2-ish little girl totally rocking a toboggan hat and bedroom slippers at the pet store.  Right foot–Elmo….Left foot Spiderman.  Loved it!

Comments on: "Insert witty title here…" (2)

  1. I hope the move goes well and Spencer likes the new space!

  2. Hugs to you and kudos to the new place!

Leave a Reply

