Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

Today was one of the worst.days.ever. at work.  The details are inconsequential, but I had to deal with a huge miscommunication that hurt people’s feelings, made them angry at me, and turned into a shitstorm and a meeting in my manager’s office.  I had to deal with doctors not doing the right thing.  I had to deal with two of my staff getting so pissed off at each other that I had to use my mean voice and shut them up.  I had to give a patient’s family bad news that someone else should have dealt with.  I had to deal with a patient’s family who was being unreasonable and trying to avoid her transfer to another facility.  I had to deal with a patient who was in significant need of some anti-anxiety medications and needed to be peeled off the ceiling.  Then he accused one of my staff of “treating him like a second class citizen because of his sexuality.”

I did not realize when I scheduled it that I had the best timing ever when I scheduled a 4 day weekend.  I have driving, live music, and the company of someone whom I care deeply about on the agenda.

And the best part?  I will not be at work.  And maybe?  Next week I can look into training to be a plumber instead.

Comments on: "Can I have a pity party and a happy dance at the same time?" (2)

  1. I’m so glad you’re getting some time off to rest and relax. Take care of YOU!!!

  2. Hi babe, Happy Valentine’s Day.

    I hope you had a most fabulous weekend with a lot of loving and a lot of laughter.

Leave a Reply

