Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

Do you have a bucket list?

Today I found a website that lets you document the list of things you want to do in your life.  sharebuckets.com (Okay, I really can’t seem to figure out how to do a hyperlink in wordpress, maybe I need to put that on the list.)  I don’t really have a particularly long list, but since I was reminded of one thing on it this weekend, I found it interesting.  I have had people in my life (past tense) indicate that my lack of a lengthy, thought out list of things to do meant that I wasn’t living with as much purpose as I should.  I disagreed then, and after looking at the website, I still disagree.  What I found when I perused the “most popular” items other people had listed…I have done a hell of a lot of them.  I think that I do a good job taking advantage of opportunities as they happen, and the list gave me some evidence of that.

Here are the things that I put on my to do list:

See bats leave a cave at dusk

Zorb

Visit all the National Parks

Visit all 50 states

Pay for the person behind me in a drive thru/toll plaza

See a live volcano

throw a dart at a map and travel where it lands

visit a life sized maze

chase a tornado

participate in La Tomatina

get a tattoo

This is a list from the “favorites” that I have already done:

Find a 4-leaf clover

Ride in a horse drawn carriage

Washington, DC

Las Vegas

New York City

Ask a hairdresser to do “whatever he likes”

Meet someone famous

Sit on a jury

Tour a winery

Go to the top of the Empire State Building

Take an Alaskan Cruise

Visit the Grand Canyon

Go to a drive-in movie

Order room service

Fall in love

Get married

Swim with dolphins

Go on a cruise

Celebrate Mardi Gras in New Orleans

Donate blood

Stand under a waterfall

Sing karaoke

Go to Disneyworld

Make my own clothes

Go to a movie premiere at the midnight showing

Meet my favorite author

Skinny dip

Ride in a Limo

Attend the Olympics

View a Solar and Lunar eclipse

Ride a horse

Ride an elephant

See a glacier

Stand under a waterfall

Things that I have done that weren’t on any lists–but should have been:

Run naked in the rain

Attend the Sugar Bowl

Ride a mule in the Grand Canyon

Bobsled down an Olympic track

Watch bears catch salmon in a river

Appear on television

Win something on the radio

Take a ride in an open cockpit bi-plane

Go to the airport to mee a sports team as they return from out-of-town

Be with my father when he visited his 50th state

ride in a sea plane

See my favorite team win the National Championship (twice, even)

Have a local bar where “everybody knows my name”

Attend an MLB All-Star game

Be a groupie of a local band

Drive a red Mustang convertible up the coast of California with the top down (by myself)

Climb to the top of the Coliseum in Athens (Georgia)

So, any thoughts on my list?  Does anything surprise you, scare you, offend you?  What things would you add…or even subtract?  What would be on your list?

PS–Thanks for all the warm wishes regarding my weekend.  It was as fabulous as I expected…and then some.

 

 

Leave a Reply

