Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

Shopping and stuff

This weekend my sister dragged me to the store with her.  Neither of us are really big shoppers (don’t disown me, Liz), but it is a good way for us to visit and be productive.  She had a list of things she needed, but I did not.  I still managed to do some damage.  Home Goods-two huge purple bottles to fill an awkward space above the fireplace.  Target-a new duvet cover that is not really at all my typical style (it has flowers for god’s sake!), but I love it and needed a change.  It fits much better with the feel of my new bedroom.  Michael’s-3 frames that would have been on the list if I had made one, and a completely impulsive purchase of a poster (and frame).  It just spoke to me and I was unable to put it back (and my sister wouldn’t let me).  When I got home I looked it up and got the details…”The Kiss” by Gustav Klimt.  Evidently, it is a famous painting, but I don’t know if I had seen it before.  Online, the woman is clearly a redhead, but in the store her hair looked brown to me.  Nevertheless, I have it and I like it!

I also did a somewhat bravish thing related to the phrase in my heading “figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.”  I sent an email that will change the tenor of a relationship that is very important to me.  I’m not being coy, but the details are not for publication right now (and may never be).  I just know that I feel good about what I did even though I am not really sure that I will like the outcome.

So, who bought what recently?  Who did something out of context?  Who got a purple tattoo?  What are you doing this weekend?

 

 

 

Comments on: "Shopping and stuff" (3)

  1. Your Sister said:

    Are the deets available to someone you used to take baths with?

  2. Sally Kolks said:

    Hey Sista! We never got to connect vocally this week! I liked your post and can’t wait to go the ATL Target with you and Bryan. I went today and bought a big flower ring on clearance. I am going to wear it to watch the Oscars. Hope all is well.

  3. Just came back to admire this artwork. You have fabulous taste.

Leave a Reply

