Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

In a Word

“In a Word” is the theme for this month at NaBloPoMo. I am under no illusion that I will actually manage to post every day for a month, but I’m up to give it my best shot. Who knows? I could surprise myself.

When I was driving in North Carolina last month, I saw a plain white billboard with simple black writing. “Words have meaning. Be careful how you use them.” I did not have time to double back and take a photograph, and I am still disappointed that I didn’t do it anyway. There was nothing to indicate what company, church or group had sponsored the billboard. I love whoever put it up just a little bit.

I don’t really consider myself a writer, but I do love words, and I always have. My grandmother told me that as I child I always carried two things with me–a book and a jump rope.   I get nervous if I am more than halfway through a book and don’t have the next one “in the on deck circle.”  I suppose there are days when I do no reading at all, but they are few and far between.

I love words just for the way they sound and the things they represent…tactile…serendipitous…ambiguity…languid…smitten…titian.  I could continue, but you get the gist.  Do you have favorite words…what might they be?

Comments on: "In a Word" (1)

  1. I keep meaning to tell you, I cannot get that quote out of my head. I love it and I keep thinking about it! I really like the word “ubiquitous”. So fun to say! And “languid”, yes! It just *sounds* languid…

Leave a Reply

