Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

I found this prompt on the NaBloPoMo site, and it made sense to me.  I had even had a conversation with a co-worker about this very thing today.   How do you feel about the name given to you at birth?

In many ways, my birth name has been like my red hair.  It required some *growing into.*  Just for the record, I do not blog under my birth name.  This was done initially out of respect for my sister and her kids since she had chosen to use another name–I did the same.  I’m not even sure why or what made me choose Sophie, but that is another question than the one at hand.

I am named after my maternal Grandmother.  I have a difficult time typing that with a small-case “g.”  It simply doesn’t seem to accurately represent her.  I come from a family primarily of women–strong women.  Grandmother’s other name is “The Matriarch”  also in caps.  My first name is a traditional catholic name…old-fashioned…and as I was told today “strong.”  There were 3 of us in my 3rd grade parochial school class.  My middle name was Grandmother’s maiden name.  It is a name generally given to boys–and not to ones that are likely to be terribly popular.

As a child I felt embarassed about my middle name.  I didn’t like to tell people what it was.  The response was usually teasing of some sort.  So I just didn’t share it.  As a teenager I felt like my first name was too traditional.  It felt like a drag on my late-blooming exuberance.  There are diminutives of my name, but I was never called them–except by Mother and one college friend…and Mother never did it in public.  I also did not like the fact that my family “recycles” names.  I didn’t want the one that my Grandmother, an aunt, and a second cousin all shared.

As an adult, I appreciate my name and all that it signifies.  I am proud to have a name that was the name of my Grandmother.  She was one of the most gracious, smart, forward-thinking women I have ever known.  I don’t expect to be exactly like her, but I certainly hope that I am like her in some aspects.  I don’t give a shit if people think my middle name is unusual.  It is from a family I am proud to be a part of.

If all this has made you curious about my given name, just ask and I’ll email it to you.  Having started as an anonymous blogger, I prefer to stay that way–when you do a g**gle search on my name it nets you little.  I’m good with that.  However, as many already know, I do not mind a bit telling my readers who I am *in real life.*

So, how about your name?  Did your parents pick it from a book of names?  Are you named after a character in a book or movie?  Has the way you feel about your name changed over the years?

Comments on: "A rose by any other name?" (2)

  1. I love your name, both real and Sophie. I think you’re a beautiful, strong woman and the name needs to rise to meet you and not the other way around.

    I chose Elizabeth for myself. It’ll do, but I wish I had waited until later to name myself. I might have chosen something different.

  2. Sally Kolks said:

    It’s funny it has taken me awhile to embrace your given name as I only know you as Sophie! I do think your name fits you. I was named after my mother’s sister. I named all my
    kids after someone. The girls are named after mine and my husbands grandmothers and George is named after my brother and Father. I like that there is a story and history behind their names.

Leave a Reply

