Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

I have had two situations in the past weeks that have made me realize that simple acts of kindness (what I used to think was just part of being human) can be returned when you least expect it.

I attend a music festival in Okemah, OK every July since 2002–except for one.  For 4 days a year, the tiny town is abuzz with musicians and music lovers.  I have always stayed at the same hotel, and I always stop and speak to Jerry who works the front desk.  I do this because it is what Mother taught me.  This year, I waited too late to make reservations.  There were no rooms.  There are other hotels, but they are a bit further away, and when it comes to tradition, I am a bit of a stickler.

I called and Jerry answered the phone. I gave him my name and told him my plight.  I asked if there were a waiting list and if I should forget it and just make alternate plans.  He said, “I will find you a room.”  He found me that one, and when I called back a day later on behalf of a friend, he laughed in my ear and found me another–but told me there were absolutely none left so an additional call would be fruitless.

Last night I went to a show at Eddie’s Attic in Decatur.  Whenever there is an opening act, I have mixed feelings.  Will it be a diamond in the rough or someone who must be endured to get to what I came to hear. Last night was the former, and I was pleased.  The musicians I adore are never going to be mad famous or mad rich, but they have extraordinary talent.  When one of them touches me, I like to let them know.  It’s a small thing, but maybe it helps make that night at the hotel without their families a bit less lonely if they know that somebody *got* it.  It was already far past my bedtime, but I waited patiently to talk to him.  He was chatting with a couple older than I and the discussion turned to the pros and cons of unions.  I thought it would last forever, but I still waited.  I spoke to him briefly, asked him to sign a CD for a friend, and turned to go.  Behind me were a man and a woman.  They said, “He is playing at a private party tomorrow, we’d love for you to come.”  They gave me the address and the time (and their names since I would be without invitation).   Turns out it is a fundraiser for a local charity that appears to have goals in line with my ideas.  It is also at a home in one of the swankier neighborhoods in Atlanta.  Serendipitous?  Yet to be determined.  Really awesome example of how being in the right place a the right time opens many a door?  Absolutely. 

I was kind and appreciative to both of these folks with a genuine heart.  I had no expectations of return on my investment.  I was happy enough with the investment.  I am ever so thankful that the universe really does pay it forward, and that I am the lucky recipient of late.

Comments on: "Karma isn’t always a bitch" (2)

  1. Your Sister said:

    Need a date? I’m always up for an entree into a swanky home.

  2. Sally Kolks said:

    Do you think it was a Real Housewife house?

Leave a Reply

