Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

I haven’t gotten tons of sleep this week.  Sunday night there was a terrible thunderstorm and a late night phone call with a friend.  Monday night there was the SWAT team flash-bang and overflowing of the supposed-to-be-relaxing night time bath.  Tuesday I was probably just stupid and didn’t put down the computer at a reasonable time.  Last night I went to a great Opening Night Baseball Show at Eddie’s Attic.  It wasn’t a terribly late evening, but it took a bit to wind down.  I never turned the heat on yesterday, and it was mid 50’s in the house.  Spencer woke me up to let him out around 2AM.  I woke up needing to go to the bathroom around 4.  Percy sleeps with me on the bed–usually tucked against my right hip.  I jostled her so I could climb out of bed, and she didn’t move.  I touched her and she was in that tight little cat circle…and very cold to the touch.  I’m a nurse, not moving and cold made me think she was dead.  Curled up next to me dead and cold.  I was distressed and sad, but also trying to figure out the practical issues.  I need to pee.  I need to go to work in a few hours.  Do I have a ziplock bag big enough to put her in?  I shifted around in the bed trying to get out around her.  She cocked her head and looked at me in an annoyed fashion.  The little bitch just didn’t want to be disturbed, and her fur was just cold because the heat wasn’t on.  I made assumptions based on the “middle of the night in a week that has had fewer hours asleep than I require.”  I’m super glad she is still alive, but I might not give her any tuna for a long while.

Comments on: "Remind me to try very hard to get more rest" (1)

  1. Not turning off the computer or tv early enough gets me all the time. I know as I’m sitting there that I will just absolutely hate myself in the morning, but I still won’t turn it off.

    Here’s hoping you’ve gotten some much needed rest. xo

Leave a Reply

