Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

I was minding my own business driving to work and Officer (Friendly) in the parking lot waved me over. Seems I was going 53 miles an hour…in the last 20 feet of a school zone. Boo Hiss for me. In addition, I got another ticket for not lying about how long I had been back in Georgia. Oh well. My sister calls it “Fast Driving Award,” I call it “SpeedingTax.” Either way, I was overdue.

Fast forward to the following day. I was tired and had a headache, and I disobeyed another traffic rule.There is an on-ramp near where I grew up that I used all the time. Then they put in HOV lanes, and they made it an HOV only ramp. I was irritated by this as it took away from me a route that I used often. 97% of the time I follow that law…this was one of the times I did not. No sooner did I make the left turn than did I see another police officer…waving me over. Holy shit! Two days in a row? You gotta be kidding me. I pulled over (as had about 4 other cars). I waited for what seemed like forever. The following conversation took place:
Cop: Has anyone taken your license yet?
Redhead: No, sir.
Cop: Why are you pulled over?
Redhead: Because this is an HOV only ramp, sir.
Cop: Did anyone tell you to pull over?.
(Very puzzled) Redhead: You did, sir.
Cop: I believe you must have misunderstood me. Thanks for your time. You’re from Texas. I’m not giving you a ticket, have a good day.
Redhead: (not one to correct a cop who thinks I’m from Texas) Thank you, sir.

These event reminded me of another interaction with the police many years ago. Mother and I were driving to Augusta for my graduation from nursing school. We packed a picnic…sandwiches, chips, beer, the usual. I was driving down the highway drinking my beer and my lead foot (again) got in the way. Lights and siren behind me, so I pull over. As I am pulling over, Mother is busy. Before I can blink an eye, the beers are back inside the now-closed cooler…and a stick of chewing gum, half-unwrapped is in my face. I give the cop my license and insurance card, fully ready to accept the ticket. Mother had another idea. She leans over the console and says (in her Southern drawl), “Sir, I am so terribly sorry if we were speeding. You see, we are going to my daughter’s graduation from nursing school. We are so excited about it that we did not even realize we were going so fast. If you let us off with a warning, I promise that I will pay much closer attention to be sure she doesn’t speed any more.” He handed me back my license and said, “Congratulations, young lady.”
So, when did you have an interesting or funny experience with the cops? Ever talk your way out of a ticket?

Comments on: "The redhead and the police interact…" (3)

  1. you outlaw. i knew i liked you.

    i once tried to pretend i was fresh off the boat from another country to avoid getting a ticket. it got me in more trouble. shoulda thought that one through.

  2. A cop once pulled me over for speeding in front of a sign that read “Rest Stop 1 Mile” . I took that as a sign from above and starting hopping up and down in my seat. When the cop approached my car, I told him I had to go to the bathroom really badly and pointed to the Big Gulp cup in my holder. Since I was 3 states away from where my car was registered, he believed me. But he followed me to the Rest Stop to make sure I got out and ran in. LOL

Leave a Reply

