Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

I actually did not look to see exactly how slack I have been at this blogging thing, but I know it has been too long. Rather than catching up, I’ll just go with the current events.

I got laid off Wednesday due to a “reduction in force.” I was not surprised, we knew tons of cuts were coming, and I had done the math and figured it out. I will be paid for 7 weeks, and my insurance will be in effect through July. I also will be paid for whatever vacation time I had in the bank. So, instead of panicking, I am looking at this as a bend in the road (and it sure has been a twisted mother-fucker the past year). The cuts they have made will be really hard for the people remaining to adjust to, so in some ways I consider myself fortunate. What sucked was not being able to say goodbye. I was trying to slip out unobtrusively (as they asked), but did trip over and hug the neck of 3 co-workers. Even though I have been back less than a year, I have built and (re) built relationships. I was prepared for the layoff, but not for the feeling of being left hanging. I hate goodbyes, but I like closure. Fortunately, several of us had plans to go out June 25 in place, so I will see some folks then. I have some leads, and I am not stressed about it. I am still a nurse, and people still need nurses. I’m hoping to get THE job, but I know I will be able to get A job.

This Sunday marks the 46th anniversary of my birth. Last night I went to see Rebecca Loebe. She is from Atlanta, and plays often at my favorite venue, but I did not “hear” her until she was on the television show “The Voice.” (If you are a watcher, she didn’t make it out of the Battle Rounds. She sang a Nirvana song for the audition, chose Team Adam, and got eliminated after the duet of “Creep” with little med school dude.) She is brilliant, gorgeous, wide variety of original songs, and as nice as she can be. I met her father when I saved him from a hug-ass-mother-fucking-cockroach that was crawling on his back. I also got busted using the men’s restroom when the line was too long for the women. It was a one seater, I really had to go, and I didn’t want to miss any more music than necessary. Not quite the rush as using the men’s room at the Superdome, but worth a mention.

Tonight I will be eating fondue with my sister and a couple of very dear friends. We will then go to The Fabulous Fox Theater and see the movie “To Kill a Mockingbird.” The Fox is an amazing building and I have seen Elton John in concert, Dora the Explorer with the niece, but never participated in the summer movies. They have a sing along with Mighty Mo (the organ) and a cartoon before the movie. I am looking forward to it. Low key plans, but exactly what I want to do. I can’t wait to get another peek at the amazing architecture (it started as a Mosque).

So, that’s what’s up with me. How about you guys?

Comments on: "Laid off, aging, slack blogger" (4)

  1. I have very fond memories of seeing Gone With the Wind at the Fox Theater a few years ago–it is such a charming, beautiful theater.

    I’m sorry that you’re dealing with a lay off, but it sounds like you have a great attitude about the future and it’s great that you’ve got a little bit of a cushion with your pay and insurance. I’m sure you’ll find something amazing!

  2. Babe, I’m so sorry to hear about this. Don’t those bozos know you run the show? But, I’m glad you have some time to chill out a little since it seemed like they were working you SO hard.

    A happy, happy, happy birthday to you. Please have a delicious alcoholic libation for me this weekend and do something crazy. But not that crazy. Because I live really far away and it’s going to take me some time to get there if I need to bail you out.

  3. Your Sister said:

    Slight correction: the Fox Theatre wasn’t actually a Mosque, it was planned as the Shriner Mosque, which is just their meeting place. It was not intended as a place of worship.

  4. Floretta Neigh said:

    Enter stage left, Elton John, his flamboyant, often outrageous outfits, were overshadowed by his timeless musical talent and uninhibited taste for jewellery. A stylist, songwriter and outlandish showman, no one ever left a concert in disappointment. To have your jewellery in his radar is an honour and privilege. The perfect ambassador to glam rock he reckoned with his own ego traversing stages all over the world delighting audiences with his soulful music. Amongst his collaborators in the field of dress style, are, David Bowie Brian Ferry and the originator Marc Bolan..

    Hottest content on our very own web blog
    <,http://www.caramoanpackage.com/

Leave a Reply

