Redhead, nurse, sister, daughter, aunt, newly-ex-wife, sucker for lost animals, currently owned by Percy the cat and Spencer the dog. In the middle of some major changes–trying to figure out what I want so I can figure out how to get there.

Coffee table DIY

I had an inexpensive coffee table that had seen better days. I finally got around to a project I have had in mind for ages. My sister helped me with the initial steps. We sanded down the table, and painted it with hunter green paint. (The cards did not look right when we spread them out on the unpainted surface.) We were purposely unconcerned about “neatness,” feeling that it would be a waste of time and thinking we didn’t have enough paint to cover completely. After that dried, I glued a bunch of Loteria cards to the table. I bought these in San Antonio, but there are many places online they can be purchased.  Loteria is a game similar to Bingo, but with much cooler, more colorful cards. We left out a few we didn’t like–most of the people including “la negrita,” but I kept the drunk dude (can’t remember the spanish word). I tried to leave out “la corazon,” but Sis kept putting it back in the pile.

I have some water based (hallelujah!) finish yet to apply. I think I will cover the cards with a light wash because they seem too bright to me. I will also likely paint the rest of the table either hunter green or black. One more thing in my odd, but very much like me little house. What do you think?

You can click on any of the photos for a closer look. If anyone is inspired to do something similar (either a table, a tray or something even more creative) let me know. I bought 2 sets of the game but only used one. I would love to donate to someone who will put them to good use.

Comments on: "Coffee table DIY" (2)

  1. I LOVE THIS! A LOT! Wow, what a transformation. I’m impressed, sista.

  2. That looks awesome! I love how you are really making your new home “yours”.

Leave a Reply

